Running… for a cause

I had quite an eventful Sunday last week. It didn’t start at the usual 9:30am, instead I was awake at 5 in the morning. Half in my sleep, yet rushing, to get to the starting line of a marathon. Not a huge one, a small one, a tiny one actually, five and a half kilometers long to be precise. The plan to go had been made just the night before. And when you are the type of guy who is really bad at saying ‘no’, why not sacrifice a random Sunday morning for a marathon. As it is, they don’t happen everyday now do they! :P

At 6am, the sky was beautiful and the sun had yet not risen when I left my home. That one glimpse of the sky and the hills as a backdrop, seemed to make getting up completely worth it! To make things better, my ride was a Royal Enfield, driven by an awesome singer, Satwik, and with the highways empty at 6 in the morning on a Sunday, boy was it a thrill! :D

Now the plan was simple, go and have fun. Reached just in the nick of time, got myself registered and ran to the starting line before the ribbon fell. It feels fun having a sticker stuck to your t-shirt. You are generally labelled by people in life, but this one time it felt fun. I wondered why it isn’t fun the rest of the time. At the starting line, things were heating up; I was chit chatting with the troops, strategies were being plotted, mini-warm ups were happening and then… “Go!” and we were off!
The running had begun, and having really nominal but none-the-less some athletic experience in the past and a little common sense, I already knew the marathon was about endurance. Not how fast, how long or how high, but how far. How far you could go without stopping. The first 1 kilometer, most of the competition was sprinting. Pretty much like a rat race, since one guys sprinted off, the others just followed suite. I thought, man… these guys are kinda dumb. I’ll just stick to my pace and it’ll all be awesome. Loads of people overtook me. But there was no end to my optimism. I just knew, they are going to drop off; and another 500 meters later, the first signs of fatigue kicked into some of the ‘sprinters’ and they decided to slow down to a walk. Aha! I had finally begun making ground! My strategy was working! If I just kept up this pace, I could beat them all! (I thought!) :D
In the end, my will power prevailed, and though I did slow down to a walk myself, I kept up my decent pace to finish leaving ‘the troops’ behind. That is whats matters… finishing.

A marathon is a wonderful place where there are so many other people, you realize you should focus on your game and yours alone. You neither have the time or energy to invest in outwitting one other guy, cause there are just so many. Makes sense eh, looks like it can be applied to life too.

The Happified Team at the NMIMS marathon, Bandra Bandstand
4th November, 2012

The Happified team was there after the marathon, and we helped publicize the magazine. (If you don’t know about it already, go check it out now!) Re-directing youth to focus on the positivity and awesomeness around us instead of the daily humbug was actually quite an honor. Hope to do much more of it soon. It was nice to know that our registration money had gone to a charity working for under privileged children’s primary education. So we weren’t just running for ourselves. And contrary to popular belief, after the marathon we felt quite a boost of energy. Might I say a most wonderful Sunday followed.

Cya soon kiddos

P.S.: Saying yes to everything, really is the secret to adventure! And the next day was kinda painful on the legs. But then again, chicks dig scars and pain heals, but glory… lasts forever.

6 responses to “Running… for a cause

  1. This is sooooo coool! Made me want to come for the Marathon :D
    And I absolutely loooooouuuuu your blog ! It just looks crazy :)

Leave a Reply

